Skip to main content

PDP committee proposes June 30 for convention

The Standing Committee on Reconciliation of the Peoples Democratic Party headed by Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State has recommended that the party should hold its national convention on June 30.

Dickson submitted the recommendations of the committee to the National Chairman of the party, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff in Abuja on Tuesday.

He said that the committee took the decision and others at its meeting which was held in Abuja on the same day.

The governor restated the commitment of the committee to find a political solution at resolving the ongoing crisis facing the party without prejudice to the ongoing judicial processes.

In other words, Dickson stated that the appeal lodged by the sacked National Caretaker Committee of the party headed by Senator Ahmed Makarfi against the judgment of the Court of Appeal which validated the appointment of Sheriff as the chairman should go on.

No date has been fixed for the hearing of the appeal pending before the Supreme Court.

Also, the Court of Appeal sitting in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, had yet to fix a date for the stay of execution of its judgment. The stay of execution was filed by Makarfi.

However, the governor said that there was a need to provide a template that he said would culminate into the holding of what he called ‘unity national conversion’.

He said the committee proposed that the national Convention Planning Committee should consist of seven governors, seven senators, which he said must include the Deputy Senate President and 12 members of the House of Representatives.

The others would be six members of the Board of Trustees, six national vice-chairmen with one coming from each of the six geopolitical zones, three state chairmen per zone, state chairmen per zone (making 18 ), six serving Speakers of the State Houses of Assembly  and six former governors.

Others include former presiding officers of the National Assembly who are still members of the party, six prominent women leaders,  six youth leaders, six former ministers and 12 others to be nominated by Sheriff in consultation with stakeholders.

Dickson said, “The Convention Committee shall be responsible for the conduct of the elections to all the national offices of the party including the zoning of such offices.”


Popular posts from this blog

Music: Rhythm - Favour mp3

Richard Adebayo as known by his stage name "Rhythm" is a Port Harcourt based artist, and one of the city's fastest rising artists. After dropping three hit singles, “Condo, Roll up and Wait", he has come with another hit single titled “Favour".

Download and enjoy.

Download Song

Music: Rhythm - Wait Mp3

Nigerian based artiste, known for his stage name "Rhythm", after dropping two hit singles,"CONDO" and "ROLL UP" has again dropped another bomb shell to wake the minds of the dull, and this is tittled "WAIT".


Music: MrEra - Dance mp3

Emmanuel Richard Angaye, known for his stage name Era, is a Nigerian based singer and songwritter.  He dropped his first single tittled ''APROKO'' . Here comes his latest single, tittled ''DANCE'', Prod by Dj Howlbert OTB.
I bet you, your gonna love this one.